TATA Innovation Fellowships

Tata Innovation Fellowship

Purpose: Tata Innovation Fellowship is a highly competitive scheme instituted by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India in 2007 to recognize and reward scientists below age of 55 years with excellent track record and have made significant  scientific contributions in life sciences and biotechnology including fundamental research, healthcare, agriculture & allied areas and environmental sciences. The major emphasis is on innovation and translational research with a potential towards commercialization.

Nature of Award

Upto 5 Fellowships is conferred to the scientists in a year. The amount of the fellowship is Rs. 25,000/- per month in addition to regular salary from the host institute. Each Fellow will receive a contingency grant of Rs. 6.00 lakh per annum for meeting the expenses in connection with the implementation of the research project under the fellowship. The duration of the fellowship is for 3 years and extendable by another 2 years based on fresh appraisal.


  • The applicant should possess a Ph.D degree in Life Sciences, Agriculture, Veterinary Science or a Master’s degree in Medical Sciences, Engineering or an equivalent degree in Biotechnology / related areas. The applicant must have outstanding contribution and publication in the specific area.
  • The candidate must have a regular permanent position in a University/Institute/ Organization and should be engaged in research and development. If he/she is availing any other fellowship, he/she will have to opt for only one of the fellowships.
  • The applicant should have spent at least 5 years in India before applying for the fellowship.
  • Open to Indian Nationals residing in India who are below the age of 55 years as on closing date of application submission. The fellowship is co-terminus with the superannuation of fellow in his/her organization.

Submission of applications:

Applicants are sought in response to advertisement every year published in DBT website/national dailies/science magazines.


So far department has supported 66 Fellows in which 25 Fellows have been supported in last 5 years.

Concerned Officer for more information

Programme Head Dr. Sundeep Sarin, Scientist G
Email sundeep[at]dbt[dot]nic[dot]in
Phone No. 011-24361035
Programme Coordinator Dr. Manoj Singh Rohilla, Scientist E
E-mail manojsrohilla[dot]dbt[at]nic[dot]in
Phone 011-24363726
Attached Officer Dr. Deo Prakash Chaturvedi, Scientist C
Email deo[dot]prakash[at]dbt[dot]nic[dot]in
S. No.TitleDetails
1Proforma for application-TATA Innovation FellowshipsView (15.18 KB) pdf
2Advertisement of Tata Innovation Fellowship for the year 2018-19 -TATA Innovation FellowshipsView (583.16 KB) pdf
3Advertisement of Tata Innovation Fellowship 2019 View (173.96 KB) pdf
4List of selected candidates for Tata Innovation Fellowship for the year 2019-20View (7.96 KB) pdf